My Hair Over The Past Six Years And Why It Matters

This will be the first time I’ve publicly admitted anywhere that I have trichotillomania. It’s probably not something you’ve ever heard of before, in fact it probably sounds quite strange or bizarre, but the definition is pretty simple:

Screen Shot 2015-02-15 at 18.27.00

What’s the big deal, you might be wondering. Hair-pulling doesn’t sound life-threatening, or like it has any connection to someone’s mental health. Just stop pulling! It’s that simple. You just have to stop pulling out your hair, and everything goes back to normal, right?

These are thoughts that have plagued me for the last four years of my life. I used to compulsively write on a piece of paper, over and over: “Don’t pull out your hair”. I thought I was being stupid, I thought that I could cover up the hair loss and no-one would ever know. I thought I could tell my hairdresser I burnt it on hair straighteners and no-one would know the difference.

But I was wrong, because I knew.

Somewhere deep down inside I knew that this was a problem. For me it seemed to be tied to stress, whenever I was stressed or worried, there would be hair all over my laptop, my books, my floor. I sometimes wondered if I would eventually lose all my hair.

If you know me you might be sat there wondering why you’ve never seen me bald, or why I don’t have chunks of my hair missing. Unlike other trichsters (people with the same disorder) mine was solely focused on the right side of my head (until recently, but I’ll discuss that later). You can tell I have had hair loss on the right side of my head, sometimes so bad that the hair was no longer than a few inches, but I was so ashamed I never documented it. I will now attempt to show you in the best way I can from old photos, please don’t read further if you suffer from trich and are easily triggered:

15 years old, pre-trich (remember to focus on the right side of my hair).

trich1

At 18 the damage isn’t extremely noticeable…

trich2

But then it worsens. (Webcam picture flips the sides.)

trich3

And by the time I’m 19…

trich4

There are noticeable sections of hair that barely reach past my chin.

trich5

So I cut my hair all the same length that summer.

trich6

But by winter I was back in the same place with the right side of my hair significantly thinner than the left.

trich7

And at 20 the hair on the right was mostly gone.

trich8

So I cut it all short-ish again.

10486217_657417847685487_5196928190209539809_n

And it seemed to help… Mostly because I managed to adapt my disorder and pick at the hair at the back of my head, near the neckline.

10610788_693479627412642_8740300963290215005_n

My hair right now is the healthiest it has ever been in six years, but there’s still a long way to go, because I do pull out my hair at the base of my neck, but I’m not sure I’ll ever be able to stop it. 10885254_768742546553016_347686874231947142_n

I know my disorder is very mild, there are many others like me who have experienced extreme baldness or bald patches that I’m lucky to never have had, but that doesn’t make it any less real. It took me a long time to come to terms with my disorder, and I still have a long way to go, but if you’re experiencing this yourself – or any other compulsive behavioural disorder – then please try and seek the support I didn’t. It’s out there.

For more information:

http://www.nhs.uk/conditions/trichotillomania/Pages/Introduction.aspx

http://www.trich.org/

http://www.trichotillomania.co.uk/

http://www.theguardian.com/society/christmas-charity-appeal-2014-blog/2015/jan/09/-sp-trichotillomania-mental-health-10-things-you-might-not-know

http://trichtalker.tumblr.com/

https://www.youtube.com/user/TrichJournal

4 thoughts on “My Hair Over The Past Six Years And Why It Matters

  1. SarahWhite192

    Hello Hannah, a friend recommended this blog to me. I was wondering what you think about things such as eating disorders (such as bulimia) and also what your disability is and what you would say if someone asked you out (seeing that you’re aromantic) Sorry to be so nosy but I’m in love with your blog!!! You can email me if you prefer: karengillaniscool@gmail.com Thanks a lot!

    Like

    Reply
    1. hannahmac1630 Post author

      Hi Sarah! Thanks for your kind words, I’m glad that someone is enjoying what I write 🙂
      I’m not entirely sure what you mean when you ask me what I think about eating disorders; eating disorders make me really sad and I believe that the pressure put on people (women especially) to attain unrealistic standards of beauty only perpetuates such a horrifying problem which a lot of people don’t understand is a mental illness and can often be fatal. Sorry if that’s not specific enough for you!
      I recently began to define as aromantic because of my general feelings towards romance and relationships, however, if someone asked me out I wouldn’t say no instantly. I have dated and been in relationships in the past, but often I have not developed romantic feelings or have been more interested in having a sexual relationship than a romantic one. That doesn’t mean it will always be this way for me and I’d like to think that eventually I could find someone to be romantic with – it just might take a while haha.
      I hope this helps and you can ask me anything, whenever 🙂 xox

      Like

      Reply
  2. Pingback: My Trich Six Months On… |

Leave a comment